Our Bestseller: The History of the Pizza

14. Juni 2018

There is no clear reason why Neapolitan chefs started spreading tomato sauce and cheese on thinly rolled out dough and then baking the whole thing. What is certain, however, is that they had invented the most popular delivery food of all time, without even knowing it yet.

However, the the very first percursor dish that would later become the pizza can already be found in Byzantine Greece, where the pita bread, which is still used today, was first drizzled with oil and then baked with herbs and cheese. What we now call "pizza" was invented by the Neapolitans in 1889. Before that, a kind of pizza “dumpling” (crispy dough filled with tomatoes) was particularly popular amongst the lower class of the population.


Queen Margherita

During a visit to Naples, Queen Margherita of Savoyen was served a pizza with toppings in the Italian national colours - tomatoes represented the colour red, mozzarella the colour white and basil stood for the green part of the flag. If you haven’t already guessed it by the name of the queen: This was of course the birth of the Pizza Margherita!

After the tasty treat had earned royal approval in Italy, it didn’t take long for the pizza to be discovered as a culinary delight in England, France, Spain and last, but not least, America. Pizza was very popular with the soldiers who came home from their missions in Italy after the Second World War. They were raving to family and friends about their "new favourite food".


On everyone’s lips

But when did the popular pizza actually become the classic delivery service food that we still love to order to our front door today?

Many pizzerias began to deliver food to customers’ homes as early as the 1950s. At that time, it was possible for the owners to buy their own company car for the first time and soon it became clear among the suppliers that there was an increasing demand for "home delivery" of pizzas. From then on, the pizza delivery service has developed into an everyday business that is used by millions of hungry people every year in the industrial nations.

In America, the popularity of Southern European delicacies meant that Italian immigrants began to open pizzerias outside their own neighborhoods. Soon, the love for pizza was ignited throughout the whole country. The passion for pizza has remained with Americans to this day. Fun Fact: Americans eat around 350 pizzas per second, every day!


Got hungry?

We understand.

Order now on EAT.ch and enjoy a delicious pizza at home - just enter your postcode, choose your restaurant and menu and off you go!

Yeah, bring me pizza!

 

You may also like these posts:


EAT.ch presents: What is the Peppaward?
24. September 2018
What's the story behind the most beloved delivery food of all time? Let us tell you about the history of pizza... [Read more]

NEW: Anticipation - Perfume by EAT.ch
1. April 2018
We proudly present our latest product! Anticipation - Fill the room with your favourite aroma! [Read more]

Notre célébrité: la pizza

14. Juin 2018

Il n’y a pas de raison claire pour laquelle les chefs napolitains ont commencé à étaler de la sauce tomate et du fromage sur de la pâte finement roulée, puis à cuire le tout. Ce qui est certain, cependant, c’est qu’ils avaient inventé la nourriture livrable la plus populaire de tous les temps, sans même encore le savoir.

Toutefois, le plat précurseur qui deviendra plus tard la pizza existait déjà en Grèce byzantine, où le pain pita, qui est toujours utilisé à notre époque, a d’abord été arrosé d’huile, puis cuit avec des herbes et du fromage. Ce que nous appelons aujourd’hui «pizza» a été inventé par les Napolitains en 1889. Auparavant, une sorte de «dumpling» de pizza (pâte croustillante farcie de tomates) était particulièrement populaire auprès de la classe inférieure de la population.


Reine Margherita

Lors d’une visite à Naples, la reine Margherita de Savoie s’est vu servir une pizza avec des garnitures aux couleurs nationales italiennes – les tomates représentaient la couleur rouge, la mozzarella la couleur blanche et le basilic la partie verte du drapeau. Si vous ne l’avez pas déjà deviné grâce au nom de la reine, c’est bien sûr la naissance de la pizza Margherita!

Après avoir obtenu l’approbation royale en Italie, la pizza n’a pas tardé à être découverte comme délice culinaire en Angleterre, en France, en Espagne et, enfin et surtout, en Amérique. Elle était très populaire auprès des soldats qui revenaient de leur mission en Italie après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ils s’extasiaient devant leur famille et leurs amis à propos de leur «nouvelle nourriture préférée».

En Amérique, la popularité des délices du sud de l’Europe a amené les immigrants italiens à ouvrir des pizzerias en dehors de leur propre quartier. Bientôt, l’amour pour la pizza s’est développé dans tout le pays. La passion pour la pizza est restée chez les Américains jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Ils mangent environ 350 pizzas par seconde, chaque jour!


Sur toutes les lèvres

Mais depuis quand la pizza populaire est-elle vraiment devenue le plat de livraison classique que nous aimons encore voir arriver à notre porte aujourd’hui?

Dès les années 1950, de nombreuses pizzerias ont commencé à livrer de la nourriture chez les clients. A cette époque, les propriétaires avaient la possibilité d’acheter pour la première fois leur propre voiture de société et les fournisseurs se sont vite rendu compte qu’il y avait une demande croissante pour la «livraison à domicile» de pizzas. Dès lors, le service de livraison de pizzas est devenu une activité quotidienne qui est utilisée chaque année par des millions de personnes affamées dans les pays industrialisés.


Vous avez eu faim en lisant?

Nous comprenons.

Commandez dès maintenant sur EAT.ch et savourez une délicieuse pizza à la maison – entrez votre code postal, choisissez votre restaurant et votre menu, et c’est parti!

Oui, apportez-moi une pizza!

 

Ces articles peux t'intéresser :


EAT.ch présente: Qu’est-ce que le Peppaward ?
24. Septembre 2018
Cette année, le Peppaward sera décerné pour la toute première fois en Suisse aux meilleurs restaurants avec service de livraison de Suisse. [En savoir plus]

NOUVEAU: Anticipation - Parfum de EAT.ch
1. Avril 2018
Nous sommes fiers de vous présenter notre dernier produit ! Anticipation - Remplissez la pièce de votre arôme préféré ! [En savoir plus]