Christmas Foods: Festive Dinners from around the World

17. December 2018

Christmas is celebrated all around the world. But the one thing that changes from country to country is the menu for the big feast! We have collected the funniest and most interesting Christmas foods from around the world:


1. KFC Bucket - Japan

As funny as it may sound: In Japan, Kentucky Fried Chicken is almost synonymous with Christmas! Thanks to a strong marketing campaign, the American fast food chain has won over the Japanese people’s hearts - and a Bucket of Fried Chicken from KFC has become a must-have menu for Christmas!


2. Gourmetten - Netherlands

What the "Fondue Chinoise" is for Switzerland, the “Gourmetten” is for the Netherlands. A table grill stood in the middle of the table and various pieces of meat and skewers as well as vegetables are fried on it. The delicious pieces are then served with side dishes and sauces.


3. Tamales - Guatemala

Guatemala traditionally eats tamales at Christmas - corn dough wraps stuffed with meat, cheese or vegetables, wrapped in plant leaves and steamed. Tamales are a very old and traditional dish, it’s known to have already been prepared by the Mayas and Aztecs in their time!


4. Lanttulaatikko - Finland

A popular Christmas dish in Finland is the turnip casserole "Lanttulaatikko". As the name suggests, the casserole is made from cooked turnips, bread, eggs and spices such as nutmeg and cinnamon. The casserole is usually served with meat or fish.


5. Christmas Pudding - England and Irelande

Although the name pudding sets up expectations of being something sweet, Christmas pudding from England is not exactly a classic dessert. The pudding consists of flour and suet, as well as nuts and dried fruits, which are first laid in alcohol. Before eating, the pudding is usually heated, then covered with brandy and flambéed.

 

What is your meal on Christmas Eve? If you don't have any plans yet, don't worry - we also deliver during the holidays:

Order now



You may also like these posts:


EAT.ch presents Peppaward 2018: These are the Winners
15. November 2018
On 13 November 2018 it was finally time: This year’s winners of the Peppaward, a prize for the best delivery restaurants in Switzerland, received their well-deserved awards at a spectacular Gala night!


Read more

The EAT.ch Leftover Cookbook: Recipes for Chinese Food 
19. October 2018
You ordered too many Chinese dishes from the restaurant? With these recipes you will never have Food Waste again! 




Read more

What is your Soul Food? Find out with the EAT.ch Quiz!
4. October 2018
Have you ever wondered which food best suits your innermost being? Find out with our quiz! 





Read more

Repas de Noël:
tour du monde des menus de fêtes

17. Decembre 2018

Désormais, Noël est célébré partout dans le monde. Pourtant, le menu varie d’un pays à l’autre! Nous avons donc rassemblé les menus de Noël les plus amusants et les plus intéressants:


1. Bucket KFC - Japan

Aussi cocasse soit-il, la marque Kentucky Fried Chicken est presque synonyme de Noël au Japon! Grâce à une campagne marketing d’envergure, la chaîne de fast-food américaine s’est imposée chez les Japonais et le bucket Fried Chicken de KFC est désormais un incontournable sur la table de Noël!


2. Gourmetten - Pays-Bas

Ce que l’on appelle «fondue chinoise» en Suisse prend le nom de «gourmetten» en Hollande. Une pierrade est installée au centre de la table et l’on y fait griller divers morceaux et brochettes de viande ainsi que des légumes. Le tout est servi avec des accompagnements et des sauces.


3. Tamales - Guatemala

Au Guatemala, on mange traditionnellement des tamales pour Noël. Il s’agit de chaussons réalisés à partir d’une pâte de maïs et farcis avec de la viande, du fromage ou des légumes que l’on enveloppe dans des feuilles de végétaux pour les cuire à la vapeur. Les tamales sont un plat très traditionnel qui était déjà préparé par les Mayas et les Aztèques!


4. Lanttulaatikko - Finlande

En Finlande, le gratin de rutabagas, ou «lanttulaatikko», est un plat apprécié à Noël. Comme son nom l’indique, il s’agit d’un gratin préparé à base de rutabagas cuits mais aussi de pain, d’œufs et d’épices telles que la noix de muscade et la cannelle. Il est généralement servi avec un poisson ou une viande.


5. Christmas Pudding - Angleterre et Irlande

Bien que le mot pudding évoque un plat sucré, le christmas pudding anglais n’est pas un dessert classique. Il se compose de farine et de graisse de rognons de bœuf ainsi que de noix et de fruits secs marinés dans de l’alcool. Avant d’être servi, le pudding est généralement réchauffé et arrosé de brandy, puis flambé.

 

Et toi, que vas-tu manger pour le réveillon de Noël? Si tu n’as encore rien prévu, pas de panique. Nous livrons aussi sans interruption pendant les fêtes!

Commande maintenant



Ces articles peuvent t'intéresser:


EAT.ch présente le Peppaward 2018: Voici les gagnants
15. Novembre 2018
Le 13 novembre, c’était enfin le grand jour: lors de la spectaculaire soirée de gala, les gagnants des Peppawards, remis pour la toute première fois cette année, ont reçu leur récompense!

En savoir plus

Le livre de recettes «spécial restes» de EAT.ch: cuisine chinoise
19. Octobre 2018
Trop de repas commandés au China Restaurant? Avec ces recettes, tu n'auras plus jamais de «food waste»! 




En savoir plus

Quel type de cuisine est fait pour toi? Réponds à ce quiz pour le découvrir!
4. Octobre 2018
Tu n’es pas tout à fait sûr de tes goûts ou tu veux enfin découvrir quel type de cuisine est vraiment fait pour toi? 



En savoir plus