What to eat on Día de los Muertos: The best Mexican dishes

31. October 2018

On Día de los Muertos - one of the most important holidays in Mexico - people remember their deceased loved ones and ancestors. The festivities last three whole days, from the 31st October to the 2nd November of each respective year. The holiday started gaining more and more attention outside of Mexico in the last few years - not least thanks to films such as "Coco" by Pixar or the newest James Bond part "Spectre".

This Mexican holiday is very deeply rooted in culture and is still majorly important to the people today. The custom is celebrated with a variety of colourful decorations and delicious foods - for example the so-called "Calaveras" you find all over the streets and in shops. The “Calaveras” are skeletons made either of plastic or, more often, sugar!


Not a day to mourn

Although Día de los Muertos is all about the dead, it is not a day of mourning for the Mexican people! Instead, they celebrate it with a huge party to honour and remember their deceased, who on said day are said to return from the afterlife for a visit. This happens with lively music, folk dances, beautiful decorations and, above all, lots of good food!


A real feast for the Dead

Specialities like the "Calaveras de azúcar", sugar skulls, or the "Pan de Muerto" are popular sweets on this holiday.

But not only desserts are distributed: All kinds of delicious Mexican specialities are served on large altars and tables. Traditional Mexican dishes such as tamales, mole sauce, horchata and empanadas can be found on most dining tables during this time.

You want to join in the celebrations of the Day of the Dead this year and wonder how you can do that with the right food? No problem. For your Día de los Muertos feast, this should be on your plate:


The best Mexican dishes for Día de los Muertos

1. Burritos

A culinary dream rolled up in soft tortillas... Rice, beans, minced meat, tomatoes, avocado and cheese make the burrito a real treat from the Mexican cuisine.

2. Tortas

The name suggests it’s a dessert… But it’s actually a very tasty Mexican sandwich! Crispy baguette topped with all the goodies we know from Mexican cuisine: Beans, avocado, salsa... And all the ingredients you desire!

3. Quesadillas

It's cheese, in a tortilla, baked or fried. Do we have to say any more? <3

4. Tacos & Taquitos

The very best of Mexican finger food: Tacos are filled as desired and then enjoyed by hand. It’s as simple and tasty as that!

5. Fajitas

Fajitas may traditionally come from the Tex-Mex cuisine, but there’s rarely a Mexican restaurant today where you can’t find them! Delicious grilled and seasoned meat in warm tortillas, served with salsa, pico de gallo, guacamole and sour cream. Mmmmh!

 

The most delicious specialties and dishes from the Mexican cuisine can be found on EAT.ch. Simply enter your postcode and get started:

Order now!



You may also like these posts:


Halloween: A culinary Guide by EAT.ch
26. October 2018
What is the best way to celebrate Halloween? With a lot of delicious food of course! Because let’s be honest, what’s spookier than being stuck doing the dishes on Halloween?!

Read more

3 delicious meals to spice up your autumn 
12. October 2018
We can no longer deny it: Autumn is here to stay, and apart from beautifully coloured leaves it also brings along rainy, cold days! But also some really good food…



Read more

What is your Soul Food? Find out with the EAT.ch Quiz!
4. October 2018
Have you ever wondered which food best suits your innermost being? Find out with our quiz! 


Read more

Día de los Muertos: Die besten Gerichte zum mexikanischen Feiertag

31. Oktober 2018

Am Día de los Muertos - einem der wichtigsten Feiertage in Mexiko - gedenken die Menschen ihren verstorbenen Liebsten und Vorfahren. Die ganze Feier dauert jeweils drei Tage, vom 31. Oktober bis zum 2. November des jeweiligen Jahres. Auch in Amerika und Europa wird der Tag immer bekannter - nicht zuletzt dank Filmen wie “Coco” von Pixar oder dem neuesten James Bond-Teil “Spectre”.

Dieser mexikanische Feiertag ist kulturell sehr tief verankert und den Menschen bis heute sehr wichtig. Gefeiert wird der Brauch mit vielerlei Dekorationen und Essen - unter anderem sieht man zum Beispiel in Strassen und Geschäften viele sogenannte “Calaveras”. Dies sind Skelette, die entweder aus Kunststoff, oft aber auch aus Zucker gemacht sind!


Kein Tag zum Trauern

Obwohl sich am Día de los Muertos alles um die Toten dreht, ist es für die mexikanische Bevölkerung kein Trauertag! Stattdessen feiern sie ein riesiges Fest, um ihre Verstorbenen, die an diesem Tag zu Besuch aus dem Jenseits auf die Erde zurückkehren, zu ehren und sich an sie zu erinnern. Dies geschieht mit Musik, Tänzen, Dekorationen und vor allem einem: Viel gutem Essen!


Ein wahrer Totenschmaus

Spezialitäten wie die “Calaveras de azúcar”, Totenschädel aus Zucker, oder auch das “Pan de Muerto” sind beliebte Naschereien an diesem Feiertag.

Doch es werden nicht nur Desserts verteilt: Auf grossen Altären und Tischen werden allerlei leckere mexikanische Spezialitäten aufgetischt. Traditionelle Gerichte aus der mexikanischen Küche wie Tamales, Mole Sauce, Horchata und Empanadas finden sich auf den meisten Esstischen während diesem Fest.

Du willst dieses Jahr auch das mexikanische Totenfest feiern und fragst Dich, wie Du das mit dem richtigen Essen tun kannst? Kein Problem. Das gehört am Día de los Muertos unbedingt auf Deinen Teller:


Die besten mexikanischen Gerichte für Día de los Muertos:

1. Burritos

Ein Gaumen-Traum eingerollt in weichen Tortillas… Reis, Bohnen, Hackfleisch, Tomaten, Avocado und Käse machen den Burrito zu einem echten Schmaus der mexikanischen Küche.

2. Tortas

Was vom Namen her auf ein Dessert schliessen lässt, ist eigentlich ein sehr leckeres, mexikanisches Sandwich! Ein knuspriges Baguette belegt mit all den Goodies, die wir aus der mexikanischen Küche kennen: Bohnen, Avocado, Salsa… Und weitere Zutaten nach Wunsch.

3. Quesadillas

Es ist Käse, in einem Tortilla, gebacken oder frittiert. Müssen wir mehr sagen? <3

4. Tacos & Taquitos

Auch bei mexikanischem Essen ist das Finger Food vertreten: Tacos werden nach Belieben befüllt und dann von Hand geniessen.

5. Fajitas

Original aus der Tex-Mex-Küche, aber heute nicht mehr aus mexikanischen Restaurants wegzudenken: Lecker gegrilltes und gewürztes Fleisch in warmen Tortillas, serviert mit Salsa, Pico de Gallo, Guacamole und Sour Cream. Mmmmh!

 

Die besten Spezialitäten und Gerichte aus der leckeren mexikanischen Küche findest Du bei uns auf EAT.ch. Einfach Deine PLZ eingeben und loslegen:

Jetzt bestellen!



Diese Beiträge könnten Dir auch gefallen:


Halloween: Der kulinarische Guide von EAT.ch
26. Oktober 2018
Wie feierst Du Halloween am Besten? Natürlich mit einem Haufen leckerem Essen! Wer will am Tag der Spukgestalten schon den gruseligen Abwasch erledigen?

Weiterlesen

3 Mahlzeiten, die Würze in Deinen Herbst bringen 
12. Oktober 2018
Der Herbst ist da und bringt mit sich neben schön gefärbten Blättern halt auch Regen und kalte Tage! Dafür aber auch gutes Essen...



Weiterlesen

Was ist Dein Soul Food? Finde es mit diesem Quiz heraus!
4. Oktober 2018
Du hast Dich schon immer gefragt, welches Essen am Besten zu Deinem innersten Wesen passt? Mit unserem Quiz findest Du es heraus! 


Weiterlesen