Christmas Foods: Festive Dinners from around the World

17. December 2018

Christmas is celebrated all around the world. But the one thing that changes from country to country is the menu for the big feast! We have collected the funniest and most interesting Christmas foods from around the world:


1. KFC Bucket - Japan

As funny as it may sound: In Japan, Kentucky Fried Chicken is almost synonymous with Christmas! Thanks to a strong marketing campaign, the American fast food chain has won over the Japanese people’s hearts - and a Bucket of Fried Chicken from KFC has become a must-have menu for Christmas!


2. Gourmetten - Netherlands

What the "Fondue Chinoise" is for Switzerland, the “Gourmetten” is for the Netherlands. A table grill stood in the middle of the table and various pieces of meat and skewers as well as vegetables are fried on it. The delicious pieces are then served with side dishes and sauces.


3. Tamales - Guatemala

Guatemala traditionally eats tamales at Christmas - corn dough wraps stuffed with meat, cheese or vegetables, wrapped in plant leaves and steamed. Tamales are a very old and traditional dish, it’s known to have already been prepared by the Mayas and Aztecs in their time!


4. Lanttulaatikko - Finland

A popular Christmas dish in Finland is the turnip casserole "Lanttulaatikko". As the name suggests, the casserole is made from cooked turnips, bread, eggs and spices such as nutmeg and cinnamon. The casserole is usually served with meat or fish.


5. Christmas Pudding - England and Irelande

Although the name pudding sets up expectations of being something sweet, Christmas pudding from England is not exactly a classic dessert. The pudding consists of flour and suet, as well as nuts and dried fruits, which are first laid in alcohol. Before eating, the pudding is usually heated, then covered with brandy and flambéed.

 

What is your meal on Christmas Eve? If you don't have any plans yet, don't worry - we also deliver during the holidays:

Order now



You may also like these posts:


EAT.ch presents Peppaward 2018: These are the Winners
15. November 2018
On 13 November 2018 it was finally time: This year’s winners of the Peppaward, a prize for the best delivery restaurants in Switzerland, received their well-deserved awards at a spectacular Gala night!


Read more

The EAT.ch Leftover Cookbook: Recipes for Chinese Food 
19. October 2018
You ordered too many Chinese dishes from the restaurant? With these recipes you will never have Food Waste again! 




Read more

What is your Soul Food? Find out with the EAT.ch Quiz!
4. October 2018
Have you ever wondered which food best suits your innermost being? Find out with our quiz! 





Read more

Weihnachtsessen:
Das wird rund um die Welt zum Fest gegessen

17. Dezember 2018

Weihnachten wird mittlerweile rund um die Welt gefeiert. Doch was sich jeweils von Land zu Land ändert, ist das Menü für das grosse Fest! Wir haben die lustigsten und interessantesten Weihnachtsmenüs rund um die Welt gesammelt:


1. KFC Bucket - Japan

So lustig es klingt - Die Marke Kentucky Fried Chicken ist in Japan fast synonym mit Weihnachten! Dank einer starken Marketingkampagne hat sich die amerikanische Fast Food-Kette bei den Japanern durchgesetzt - und ein Bucket Fried Chicken von KFC gehört mittlerweile zu Weihnachten einfach auf den Tisch!


2. Gourmetten - Niederlande

Was in der Schweiz das “Fondue Chinoise” ist, heisst in Holland “Gourmetten”. Ein Tischgrill steht in der Mitte des Tisches und darauf werden diverse Fleischstücke und -spiesse sowie Gemüse angebraten. Serviert wird das Ganze dann mit Beilagen und Saucen.


3. Tamales - Guatemala

In Guatemala isst man zu Weihnachten traditionell Tamales - mit Fleisch, Käse oder Gemüse gefüllte Fladen aus Maisteig, die eingewickelt in Pflanzenblättern gedämpft werden. Tamales sind ein sehr traditionsreiches Gericht, das bereits von den Mayas und Azteken zubereitet wurde!


4. Lanttulaatikko - Finnland

Eine beliebte Weihnachtsspeise in Finnland ist der Steckrübenauflauf “Lanttulaatikko”. Wie der Name sagt, wird der Auflauf aus gekochten “Rutabaga” - Steckrüben - sowie Brot, Eiern und Gewürzen wie Muskatnuss und Zimt zubereitet. Der Auflauf wird meist mit Fleisch oder Fisch serviert.


5. Christmas Pudding - England und Irland

Obwohl man beim Namen Pudding eine Süssigkeit erwartet, ist der Christmas Pudding aus England kein klassisches Dessert. Der Pudding besteht aus Mehl und Rindernierfett sowie Nüssen und Trockenfrüchten, die in Alkohol eingelegt werden. Vor dem Essen wird der Pudding meist nochmal erhitzt und dann mit Brandy übergossen und flambiert.

 

Was ist Dein Essen am Weihnachtsabend? Falls Du noch keine Pläne hast, sei unbesorgt - wir liefern auch an den Feiertagen ohne Pause!

Jetzt bestellen



Diese Beiträge könnten Dir auch gefallen:


EAT.ch presents Peppaward 2018: Das sind die Gewinner
15. November 2018
Am 13. November 2018 war es soweit: Die Gewinner der Peppawards, die dieses Jahr zum allerersten Mal vergeben wurden, erhielten ihre Auszeichnung an der spektakulären Gala-Nacht!

Weiterlesen

Das EAT.ch Reste-Kochbuch: Rezepte für chinesisches Essen
19. Oktober 2018
Zu viel Essen beim China Restaurant bestellt? Mit diesen Rezepten hast Du nie wieder Food Waste!


Weiterlesen

Was ist Dein Soul Food? Finde es mit diesem Quiz heraus!
4. Oktober 2018
Du hast Dich schon immer gefragt, welches Essen am Besten zu Deinem innersten Wesen passt? Mit unserem Quiz findest Du es heraus! 




Weiterlesen